Monday, November 14, 2022

The 2022 midterms took place on November 8, and the results thus far have surprised parties across the political spectrum. Many seats are still undecided, and there is still not a definitive answer on which party will control the Federal House and the Senate. However, millions of voters in Illinois used their political voice via the ballot. Here’s how things turned out.

Redistricting in Illinois Update

Every 10 years, states redraw the boundaries of their congressional districts to reflect the results from the census. In the 2020 Census, Illinois lost a congressional seat as a result of diminished population. Thus, the Democrats who were in control of Congress drew a new map to reconfigure the remaining seats. Due to this redistricting, some incumbents still hold power, but in a different district.

Amendment Update: Collective Bargaining Rights

The newly passed amendment on the Illinois ballot adds a new section to the Bill of Rights Article of the Illinois Constitution that would guarantee workers the fundamental right to organize, bargain collectively, negotiate wages, hours and working conditions. It also aspires to promote workers economic welfare and safety. The amendment passed with 58.4% of the votes.

Election Update

The governor and senate seats remained the same after the election but there were quite a few seat changes in federal and state legislators in AgeGuide’s region. Here’s a breakdown:

U.S. House of Representatives

While there was no change in our region in party representation and 7 members held onto their seats, there were some seat changes.

Seat Changes:

District 16: Darin LaHood (R) Replaced Adam Kizinger (R) Who Retired

District 3: Delia Ramirez (D) Replaced Marie Newman (D) Who Didn’t Win the Primary

District 1: Jonathon Jackson (D) Replaced Bobby Bush (D) Who Retired

Illinois State Senate

In the AgeGuide region 16 Members of the state Senate will be returning. None of the changes in seats represented a flip in party representation, but there are still undecided races in districts 31, 24, 19, 26.

Seat Changes:

District 43: Rachel Ventura (D) Replaced Eric Mattson (D)

District 23: Suzanne Glowiak-Hilton (D) Replaced Diane Papas (D)

Illinois State House of Representatives

In the Illinois House, while 26 Members in AgeGuide’s region held onto their seats, there was significant turnover and some districts did flip party affiliation. Several of our districts are still undecided: 97, 51, 48, 45, 52.

Seat Changes:

District 46: Diane Blair-Sherlock (D) Replaced Deb Conroy (D)

District 42: Terra Costa-Howard (D) Replaced Amy Grant (R)

District 83: Matt Hanson (D) Replaced Barbara Hernandez (D)

District 47: Amy Grant (R) Replaced Deanne Mazzochi (R)

District 75: Jed Davis (R) Replaced David Welter (R)

District 50: Barbara Hernandez (D) Replaced Keith Wheeler (R)

District 77: Norma Hernandez (D) Replaced Kathleen Willis (D)

District 62: Laura Faver Dias (D) Replaced Sam Yingling (D)

How You Can Help

During this transition period, AgeGuide is working to ensure every elected official both new and returning, considers the needs of older adults and the sustainability of the programs that serve them, in their plans and priorities. We encourage you to reach out to your elected officials with our handy legislative advocacy tool, and ask them to support aging services in the federal budget.


Sign up with your email address to receive news and updates from us!